Skip to content

iPoetry

November 25, 2009
tags: ,

I was looking to see whether I’ve got “I’m Too Sexy” on my iPod (I don’t, which is scandalous and must be remedied), and while looking through the song list I discovered that all the titles beginning with “I” or “You” turn into almost-poems if you just read them one after another. For those who like the magic taken out of things: it’s because most song titles that start with pronouns have a verb in them somewhere, so you get full sentences instead of a bunch of disjointed fragments. Here’s an example.

I am a rock.
I am not surprised.
I am one.
I am superman.
I am the highway.
I am the knife.
I am the walrus.

You know who would like this game? Beatniks. Let’s try another!

I’m a boy.
I’m a man.
I’m an animal.
I’m finding it harder to be a gentleman.
I’m free.
I’m happy just to dance with you.
I’m in a hurry to get things done.
I’m just a killer for your love.
I’m lonely.
I’m looking through you.
I’m not a saint.
I’m not the man.
I’m not waiting.
I’m on a boat.
I’m only sleeping.
I’m sleeping in a submarine.
I’m so lonesome I could cry.
I’m so tired.
I’m the bomb.
I’ve been everywhere.
I’ve been high.
I’ve been tired.
I’ve seen it all.

Deep! Which is “peed” backwards! Stick a Guggenheim Fellowship in the mail for me and let’s call it a day. How’s about one in prose format, cowboys?

You can’t always get what you want. You can’t do that.

You could make a killing. You do. You got me rocking. You know it ain’t easy. You make loving fun. You make me sick. You never can tell. You never give me your money. You shook me. You’re in the air. You’re my best friend. You’re nobody ‘til somebody kills you.

You’re so great. You’s a ho.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. cockrocker69 permalink
    November 26, 2009 2:25 pm

    Also: I want to rock and roll all night, and part of every day.

  2. Kate permalink*
    November 28, 2009 10:31 am

    I don’t have that KISS track. I do have “Strutter,” though. That’s a good tune.

Leave a Reply

